Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC): What Is It?  

  • Home
  • Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC): What Is It?  
How the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) Works.

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC): What Is It?  

October 26, 2022 0 Comments

As a software developer, you probably already know what SDLC is. However, the Software Development Life Cycle has six very distinct stages. It is essentially a way of developing high-quality software. The SDLC focuses on the six phases of software development:  

  1. Requirement analysis  
  1. Planning  
  1. Software design such as architectural design  
  1. Software development  
  1. Testing  
  1. Deployment  

How the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) Works.

SDLC cuts down the cost of software development while improving quality and reducing production time. SDLC achieves these objectives by sticking to a plan that eliminates the common pitfall of software development. The plan begins by assessing existing systems. 

Next, SDLC defines the new system’s requirements. It then goes through the stages of analysis, planning, design, development, testing, and deployment to create the software. SLDC anticipates costly mistakes, by eliminating redundant work and having to fix things after implementation.  Failing to ask the end user or client for feedback is one example of this type of error. 

It’s also important to note that there is a strong focus on the testing phase.  SDLC methods must be able to be replicated, therefore, you must ensure code quality at each cycle.  

Phases of the SDLC. 

First phase: Planning or Requirement analysis. 

The primary goal of this phase is to collect the essential requirements from the customer. The business analyst gathers this information from their target customer(s) and plans the Business Requirement Specifications or BRS, for the product’s development. All designers and business analyst will brainstorm all the requirements and plan accordingly for the new system to be developed. At this stage, they would need to identify who will use the product and what output data is needed. 

Second stage: Feasibility study. 

When the BRS is completed, another group of employees, including Human Resources (HR), Finance Analysts, Architects, Business Analysts, and Project Managers, meet to discuss and analyze how to proceed and whether it is feasible and possible within the allotted budget. Such decisions are made based on factors such as cost, resources, and time. The Software Requirement Specification (SRS) document is then created, containing a detailed explanation of product requirements from design to development.  

Third Phase: Designing.

When the project is approved to proceed, the design phase begins.  The design specifications are organized from the prerequisite document. It contributes to the next development phase and outlines a product blueprint, which assists in specifying the hardware and requirements of your system.  It also shows how the system will be built.  

Fourth Phase: Coding.  

At this stage, developers begin writing code or preparing for engineering so that a product prototype can be created using specific tools and techniques. This is the most time-consuming phase of SDLC.  

Fifth Phase: Testing.

Once your software product is ready for deployment, engineers will create a testing environment to check for bugs and run-time errors.  They will also check whether the product’s functionality is as expected. Bugs or defects discovered during the testing phase are reported to developers, who fix the bug and return it to the test engineers for further testing. This is an iterative process that will continue until your application is bug-free and stable.  

Sixth Phase: Deployment.

Once your prototype or product is developed, tested, and fully functional, it is installed or deployed in the customer’s workplace or system for use.  

Extra: Software Maintenance.  

As technology changes and evolves, so too does the SDLC.  Therefore, maintaining, updating, and modifying software to accommodate changing needs and business contexts is a must! 

leave a comment